Air Peace

2015 ADVAN AGM And Marketers Evening


The Advertisers Association of Nigeria (ADVAN) Annual General Meeting (AGM) and Marketers’ Evening took place at the Sheba Center on Friday, 28th August 2015.

The outgoing First Vice President of ADVAN Mrs. Iquo Ukoh declared the day officially open.

The Masters of Ceremony for the AGM were Linda Temienor of Grand Oak Ltd and Seni Fawehinmi of UACN Plc.

The outgoing Executive Committee were Mr. Kola Oyeyemi, President, Mrs. Iquo Ukoh 1st Vice President, Mr. Lampe Omoyele 2nd Vice President, Mrs. Bukonola Ogunnusi, Treasurer (absent at the event), Mr. David Okeme Ex-official member, Mr. Kachi Onubogu Ex-Official member and Mrs. Ediri Ose-Ediale Executive Secretary.

Mrs. Ediri Ose-Ediale  (the Executive Secretary of ADVAN) due to the absence of the Treasure reported on the association’s accounts for 2014. ADVAN external auditor thereafter confirmed her report.

Mr. Kola Oyeyemi (the outgoing president) gave his valedictory speech. He appreciated all members present, and all the members that continued to support ADVAN programs, he gave a special thank you to his fellow executive council members for the dedication with which they had performed their duties during their tenure on council.

Oyeyemi reported on the significant achievements of the 2013-2014 Executive Committee which included amongst others the launch of the ADVAN E-Newsletter – a fortnightly magazine that would provide members with the most up to date and relevant information from around the world on marketing and marketing trends and the setup of a members only section on the ADVAN website for knowledge dissemination to members. He also informed that ADVAN was now fully represented on the Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria (APCON) as well as all of APCON’s sub committees.  

The elections saw the emergence of the following for the new ADVAN Executive Committee – Mr. David Okeme (Brand Building Director of Unilever Nigeria Plc.) President, Mrs. Joan Ihekwaba (Acting Managing Director UACN Foods) 1st Vice President, Mrs. Bimbo Alabi (Marketing Manager SoKlin) 2nd Vice-President, Mrs. Bukunola Ogunnusi (PR & Advert Manager Toyota Nigeria) Treasurer, Mr. Samson Oloche (Marketing Manager, Non-Alcoholic drinks NB Plc.)  Publicity Secretary, while the three Ex-official members are Toruka Osandukwo (Head, Communications UBA), Osamede Uwubamen (Head of Corporate and Investment, Marketing and Communication –StanbicIBTC) and Ibraheem Awelenje (Category Manager Breakfast Cereals). Mrs. Ediri Ose-Ediale remains the GM/Executive Secretary of the association.

In his acceptance speech, Okeme called for a new understanding among professionals in the industry, as it was critical to taking the profession to the next level and greater heights. He also opined that stakeholders in the industry needed to do more to ensure the development of the marketing industry, taking into account the huge sums being expended on advertising and marketing by advertisers while the association struggled to run its programs.

He solicited for the support of other members of the executive to enable his administration to step up from where Oyeyemi had stopped.

The Marketers Evening followed the elections. It was one of fun and entertainment. Mr. Tony Aletor, Chairman Capital Express Insurance Group and Vice-Chairman Consolidated Hallmark Insurance Plc. delivered a keynote address at the evening event. MC Gordons provided comic relief.

What Do You Think?


Leave A Reply